Skip to content

Worse month of my life, perhaps, but the legacy is priceless

May 25, 2012

As some of you know, it has been a difficult time for us following my mum’s death last month. My emotions have been in a swirl, but I have to say despite all the sadness, there has been lots of laughing. That is a true legacy.

Talking to people over the last few weeks, I can honestly say I have not learned anything new about my mum that I did not know before. What has made me feel good is that other people saw her in exactly the same way I did and she was loved and she was funny! So when we are sorting through her clothes and I suddenly find myself saying ‘she wouldn’t be seen dead in that’ what can you do but laugh and laugh out loud. I can have complete confidence in the fact my mum would have laughed at that too!

Then you find the letter you wrote when you were 5 and 3/4 when she was in hospital having my baby brother. A tear comes to your eye, but then you smile, because it was such a good memory. Then you find a note from your baby brother who was an ‘oribble 10 year old that he sent to her when she was in hospital, moaning about the standard of my cooking and desperately asking her to get well and come home before I burned the house down! he he – he never starved during the month she was in hospital, though I think he went off shepherd’s pie – my speciality.

I have also found myself whilst in the midst of a sea of paper dating back to before I was born talking out loud, not only to my mum but to my dad who has been gone 13 years. I know they are up there together, giggling at my antics and my grumbling because I have found another handbag full of paper, birthday cards and precious photos. My dad left us hundreds of Golden Virginia tins full of every kind of conceivable nut, bolt, screw, washer etc, and stuff for which I have not a clue what it its purpose was! and I never want to see anther Walls Ice Cream tub, full of stuff!!!!!

I think we may have a few car boot sales we could open a bric-a-brac shop. I don’t know how they managed to pack so much into a relatively small 3 bed masionette, but they did. We found a charity shop that took 2,500 Mills and Boons! they will never know how happy that makes me and my brother. I know there are a few happy romantics out there who will have a couple of new books to curl up with and a nice cuppa or a glass of wine.

Our houses have become storage warehouses whilst we sort and sift through 80 odd years of collection and love. You can’s say anything better than that.

We give the place back to the Council on Monday. Really time to say goodbye…..  Now if I can just get my dad’s ashes released from storage…. but that’s a story for another day…

From → Family Stuff

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

